Introduction

This document outlines the operation of Roaming Sessions within the Intouch system.
The following areas are covered by this document:

  • Manager: Roaming Sessions Settings.
  • SalesPoint: Using Roaming Sessions.
  • Treasury: Terminal where the Transaction was made.

Overview

Roaming Sessions allows an operator to use the same SalesPoint session across multiple terminals in a single sales location. The Roaming Sessions functionality was mainly developed for the food and beverage sector.
An operator may be required to initiate or complete sales on multiple terminals within a shift. This means that the operator should be able to open one session per shift on any terminal and be able to access that session from any terminal within that sales location.

Manager - Settings

The following settings are available in Manager:

  • Enable Roaming Sessions.
  • Session List Refresh Rate.
  • Allow Operator to Create New Sessions.


Enable Roaming Sessions

This setting is available in Manager under: SalesPoint | Program Features | General | Enable Roaming Sessions.
This setting controls whether roaming sessions are enabled within SalesPoint. Roaming Sessions are typically enabled per location, but the setting can also be applied to specific terminals. By default Roaming Sessions is disabled.
This setting makes use of inheritance and can be set up globally or for a specific Entity (terminal). In the example below - all terminals under at the BMR-Bar location have Roaming Sessions enabled and all terminals under BMR-Tickets locations do not. Roaming Sessions is also disabled globally.

Session List Refresh Rate

This setting is available in Manager under: SalesPoint | Program Features | General | Session List Refresh Rate.
This setting controls how often the session list on the login screen is refreshed and is specified in seconds. The default value is set to 60 seconds.
This setting is used on all terminals and is not bound to Roaming Sessions.

Allow Operator to Create New Sessions

This setting is available in Manager under: SalesPoint | Program Features | General | Allow Operator to Create New Sessions
This setting controls whether the operator is permitted to create a new session when Roaming Sessions exist.
By default operators are able to create a new session. This setting only applies when Roaming Sessions is activated in SalesPoint.

SalesPoint

When Roaming Sessions are enabled, the underling behavior of the Login Screen in SalePoint changes.
Note: The Login Screen does not contain a visual indicator - for the operator - that Roaming Sessions is activated.

Login Screen

When an operator creates a session on a terminal, the session is only shown on that terminal and that terminal (and that operator) is the 'owner' of that session.
If an operator goes to a different terminal and enters their pin (or swipes their user card), they can select a session from another terminal (within that location), as long as the current terminal has roaming sessions enabled.
The following sequence demonstrate the process of selecting a roaming session (i.e. selecting a session from another location).

  1. An operator creates a session on terminal 1001. They make a sale, then detach the session leaving the terminal on the login screen.
  2. The operator is then required to make another sale, but terminal 1001 is being used by someone else so the operator moves to terminal 1002.
  3. On this terminal - with the New Session line highlight - the operator enters their pin (or swipes their card). Because the operator has one (roaming) session - created on terminal 1001 - they are asked if they want to open this roaming session.

    Note: This is the session created on terminal 1001, as shown in step 1.
  4. If the operator selects No, a new session is created on terminal 1002. The operator now has two (roaming) sessions.
  5. If the operator selects Yes, the (roaming) session is opened on terminal 1002. The operator has only one roaming session; the session originally created on terminal 1001, which has been moved over to terminal 1002.

Note: When a session is roamed to a new terminal, that session is shown on the session list of both the original terminal and the new terminal.
When an operator has multiple roaming sessions and enters their pin (or swipes their card) on the Login screen - the system displays the Select Roaming Session form.
The operator can then either:

  • Select which roaming session to open, or
  • Open a new session.


Note: Only sessions for the current operator within that sales location are displayed.
Note: A session only roams to the terminal if a transaction is completed.

End of Shift Reporting

The Session Report is shown by selecting the Menu | Balance menu item.
The Session Summary report displays:

  • All transactions in a session, regardless of which terminal it was sold on.
  • A sub-total for each terminal used with the session.
  • A grand total across all terminals.


The Session Details report can be shown by selecting the Details | Summary toggle button.
The Session Details report includes:

  • The Terminal ID where the transaction was made, if different from the owner terminal.


The operator can print these reports and use them to help balance their cash and card payments.
The Menu | Display | All Local Transaction menu item displays a report on all transactions made on the current terminal, regardless which session was used.

This report can be used to balance a cash drawer on a terminal that has been used by multiple operators and multiple roaming sessions.
Note: This menu item is only available on terminals were Roaming Sessions is enabled.

Closing Sessions

The operator can close a (roaming) session on any terminal where they have made a transaction. This session then appears as closed on all terminals. The closed session is only displayed on the session list of the owner terminal (the terminal where it was created). The closed session is no longer shown on the other terminals.
Note: The time delay for a session no longer being shown is managed by the Session List Refresh Rate setting in Manager.
The following features / details shown be noted:

  • The Blind Close feature can be applied to a roaming session and includes all transactions regardless of which terminal was used.
  • When using the Close | All Sessions functionality, only the sessions local to the current Terminal are closed. Sessions that have roamed from this terminal are left open.


An operator can reopen a closed session from any terminal, by entering their pin or swiping their card.
When the Select Roaming Session form is shown, the operator can select (highlight) a closed session and press the OK button. The session is then reopened with the correct security in place, as if it was on the owner terminal.

Treasury - Auditing

On Auditing tab page in Treasury, the Sessions list displays the Location and Terminal where the session was created.

If a transaction was completed on a different terminal, this can be viewed selecting the View Sale Details menu item on the Sales list.

On the View Sale Details form, the Terminal (ID) where the transaction occurred is displayed.