Introduction

This document outlines the operation of the Supervisor Pin / Override feature available in Salespoint.

This features ensure that certain actions, in Salespoint, can only be undertaken by an operator who has been given Supervisor privileges.


Resources – Setup

Supervisor privileges are assigned to an operator, via a two-step process:

  • A user group is given supervisor privileges.
  • An operator is linked to a user group.

To assign supervisor privileges to a user group:

  1. In Resources, on the Setup tab page – go to Define | User Groups.
  2. Highlight an existing user group and select the Edit menu item (or double click on the user group). Alternatively select the Add menu item to create a new user group.
  3. The Add / Edit User Group form is displayed.
  4. To assign supervisor privileges to the user group, check the “Has Supervisor privileges” checkbox.

To link an operator to a user group:

  1. In Resources, on the Setup tab page – go to Define | Operator.
  2. Highlight an existing operator and select the Edit menu item (or double click on the operator). Alternatively select the Add menu item to create a new operator.
  3. The Add / Edit Operator form is displayed.
  4. Right click in the “Belongs to User Group(s)” section or click on its associated menu button, then select the Edit Selection menu item.
  5. The Select User Groups form is shown.
  6. Check the user groups to be linked (assigned) to the operator (i.e. the user group with supervisor privileges), and press Save.
  7. The Add / Edit Operator form is updated so that it displays with the selected user groups linked to the operator.


Salespoint – Supervisor PIN - Operation

When a Supervisor Override is required at Salespoint, the operator will be prompted to enter their PIN.

This is the PIN defined for the Operator in Resources on the Edit Operator form. As the operator is a supervisor, the PIN is considered a Supervisor PIN.

The operator must type in their PIN, and the relevant action will be allowed.

Note: An operator does NOT have multiple PINs (one normal and one supervisor).  They have one PIN, which may or may not be a Supervisor PIN depending on what user groups they are linked to.

Note: To be considered a Supervisor, an operator only needs to be linked to one user group with supervisor privileges.


Salespoint – Supervisor PIN - Implementation

The following actions in Salespoint require the entry of a Supervisor PIN:

  1. Login Screen – Balance menu item. When the session list is empty (session list displays text NEW SESSION) and roaming sessions are supported, and the system is configured to require Supervisor Balance Control (see notes below). This option prepares the balance screen for all session.
  2. Login Screen – Balance menu item. When the selected session in the session list is a standard session (not roaming) and is not closed, and the system is configured to require Supervisor Balance Control.
  3. Login Screen – Balance menu item. When the selected session in the session list is a standard session (not roaming) and is closed, and the system is configured to require Supervisor Controlled Closed Sessions.
  4. Login Screen – Close Session menu item. When the selected session in the session list is a standard session (not roaming) and is closed, and the system is configured to require Supervisor Controlled Closed Sessions.
  5. Login Screen – (operator) PIN Pad login – Open Existing Session. When the selected session in the session list is closed, and the system is configured to require Supervisor Controlled Closed Sessions.
  6. Roaming Sessions. To create a new session, when roaming sessions exist, and the system is configured to not allow new session creation, via the Manager setting: Salespoint | Program Features | General | Allow Operator to Create New Sessions.
  7. Select Roaming Session. When the roaming session is closed and the system is configured to require Supervisor Controlled Closed Sessions.
  8. Close Session – Check for Saved Sales. When closing a session (i.e. from the Balance screen) and there are open saved sales (tables) owned by the operator assigned to the session.
  9. Sales List Screen – Delete Item. When the selected sale item is flagged as ‘prevent delete’. The sale is likely to have been a recalled web or Respoint sale.
  10. Sales List Screen – Modify | Shortcode menu item. When the Voucher modify details have been entered, and the voucher account does not correspond to the buy groups linked to the product. Operator message includes: ‘The product xxxx is not included in the rate agreement for yyyy - Do you wish to enter a Supervisor PIN in order to accept this product?’.
  11. Sales List Screen – Modify | Remove Surcharge menu item. Operator message includes: 'Only a Supervisor can remove this Surcharge.'
  12. Sale / Payment Screen – Balance menu item. When the system is configured to require Supervisor Balance Control.
  13. Sale / Payment Screen – Finalise Sale. When the sale includes a rental package and the system is configured to require a credit card for rental security (via the Manager setting Salespoint | Program Features | Rentals | Require Card Token for All Contracts) - the entry of a Supervisor PIN allows the sale to be finalised without a credit card being provided.
  14. Edit Person Details form (both the standard and the Japanese version). To load a (new) photo for a guest (double clicking on the image), where the photo is less than X years old and X is set by the Manager setting: Guests | Options | Guest Management | Maximum Photo Age in Years.
  15. Confirmation Required to Delete the Current Item. To delete an item from the database, when the item has either been printed or an associated payment cannot be deleted or the product is part of a Respoint advance sale.
  16. Pass Credit. When the operator wishes to refund (credit) a product that is deemed by the system to have been used (i.e. the guest has already fully used the product or the product has been refund before).
  17. Refund Item (scan product - modify form). When at least one of the items selected for refund have already been used. Operator message includes: ‘x of the items you have selected to refund has already been used.' Actioned via an Item Exchange modifier on a Respoint Reservation item.
  18. Load Saved Sales into Sales screen. To load a saved sale (table) into the sales screen, where the current operator is not the designated owner of the sale.
  19. Load a Locked Saved Sale. When a saved sale has been locked for use (loaded) onto another register, but the lock is more than 5 minutes old (i.e. a system malfunction may have occurred) – a supervisor may override the lock and load the sale onto that register.
  20. IP Switch (Stored Value). To access the Settings section (button) on the IP Switch Control Panel.
  21. Printing Tickets. To access the Print Error Recovery form by pressing the Error button on the Print Tickets form.
  22. Pre-Print Tickets for Later Redemption (modify form). When the Date button is selected, to change the date of validity of the tickets.
  23. Print to Kitchen (docket print form). To reprint items sent to kitchen/bar.

Supervisor Access - Configuration Notes:

  • Supervisor Balance Control: To restrict access to the Balance Screen to supervisors - the following entry ‘Supervisor Balance Control=1’ is required in the [Features] section of the Salespoint.ini file.
  • Supervisor Controlled Closed Sessions: To restrict the ability to view the balance or open a close session to supervisors - the following entry ‘Supervisor Controlled Closed Sessions=1’ is required in the [Features] section of the Salespoint.ini file.